(877) 345-2515


COSS Series Recertification

The COSS Administration has launched a new, easy-to-use online recertification application. Find more information about the new process here.

Graduates are required to renew their Certified Occupational Safety Specialist (COSS) and Certificate for Occupational Managers (COSM) credentials every three years. Students should apply for recertification by December 31 of the third full year of their recertification cycle. 

Additional information about recertification is available in the Recertification Guide.

Earning Recertification Points

Recertification points are easier than ever to earn. Students can choose from 10 categories (outlined on the Recertification Summary), including but not limited to continuing education, conference attendance and job experience in the areas of safety and health, to earn these points. Point requirements are as follows:

COSS Requirement = 15 points

COSM Requirement = 20 points

*A minimum of 5 points must come from qualifying continuing education/professional development safety and health training. To view a list of courses/training that met this requirement for past graduates, click here. Note: Training you have taken related to safety, health and/or safety management that is not on this list may also count.

Students are responsible for maintaining a record of completed activities, compiling supporting documentation and reporting these activities at the end of their recertification cycle. Supporting documentation is only required if you are audited.

The Recertification Activity Log can be used for tracking completed activities.


The COSS Series includes intense, curriculum-based programs that cater to the needs of the beginning safety practitioner, as well as to the experienced safety professional.

Find Out More